Nait 5si advice needed - new (old) Naim user

Hi all,

This is my first time on the Naim forum. I owned a bi-amped Olive system back in the mid-90s, but sold it all due to life priorities at the time.

I’m now making my way back in to the HiFi world again, from scratch, after 20 odd years. I won’t be going down the route a I took in the 90s, I’m looking at a more modest set up.

To cut a long story short, I originally bought the Rega Elex-r, Quad S2 and the recent version of the Bluesound Node, and Audiolab 6000CDT.

I love the little Quads, they’re staying, as are the Node and CDT, but… after around 3 weeks with the Elex-r, I found it just too brash for my tastes.

I took it back to my dealer early this week with a view to looking at alternatives. They’ve loaned me an Arcam SA10 to try out at home, but they also gave a listen to the Nait 5si in the shop.

The Arcam is very easy to listen to; smooth and warmish, and I do enjoy it, but there’s something missing for me. I think it’s a little too laid back, the complete opposite of the Elex-r. I feel like I needed something that falls in between these two amps. So, after much hand ringing and gnashing of teeth, I’m going back tomorrow and pulling the trigger on the Nait 5si.

So, on this note, I just have a couple of questions , any help much appreciated;

I currently have 3m runs of QED Reference T40i speaker cable - will this be adequate/useable in the short term until I can get something more suitable - was looking at Witch Hat or Tellarium Black II?

Regarding the Quad S2s, they sounded great in the shop with the Nait, but haven’t been able to home demo the pairing - long term, are the Quads a decent pairing with the 5si?

Forgot to mention, my room is not big 12ft by 11ft. I listen to a lot of singer/songwriter material, Jazz, light classical, and 90s stuff like Pixies, 4AD label bands. Listening in the near field.

Thanks for reading, any advice or suggestions greatly appreciated

Kind Regards