Nait 5si AV mode buzzing from speakers

Hi all, complete Naim newbie here having just bought a Naim Nait 5si from a good friend, so I know the history of the Amp. Got it all connected up including Naim speaker cable. I have a Marantz NR 1711 connected via its pre outs to the AV input on the 5si. I have noticed that there is a low quiet buzz/hum coming from the speakers when the AV mode is selected. Lots of googling and forum reading, left me to buying a cheap ground loop isolater, but that made thing 10 times worse, so it came right out again. Any help would be greatly appreciated, if someone has had the same issue and resolved it.
Many thanks in advance.

I have found a Naim integrated amp one of the more sensitive amps to integrate into varying hifi systems, with regards to generating/‘dealing with’ hum…

generally less than thirty seconds fiven to moving speaker cables and/or subwoofer cablling as well as reorientating signal cabling can vary the amount heard, easily, by a factor of 10-100x…

once I find the cable(s) causing issues, I simply do a long term re-route and haven’t had any further issues with the installs (usually until I swap stuff around haphazardly)…

I do feel a significant part of the Naim ‘more musical’ sound is a result of not having all the chokes in place (like lots of negative feedback to nullify circuit and signal noise etc), so I take the inconvenience of ‘noisier amp’ (until sorted) as a ‘glass half full thing’ and embrace this aspect of the components.

AV Bypass; I’d be keen to look at the cables from preamp output to AV input/‘AV bypass’ input…

In my experience, even curling them a different direction might make the issue go completely away.

1 Like