Nait3 v Nait5 si

I have an old but lovely Naim refurbed nait3 amp. Thinking of a long term improvement. Will I get much better sound with the nait5 si? Wheat do you guys think?

Whilst I had my NAIT 3 refurbished I borrowed a 5i, or si, I actually forget! It was lovely, noticeably better than the 3. When I had my 3 back after service it was definitely better than beforehand, but not as good as the 5.

I guess you might expect it would be better, but not being a particular expert, I was surprised I could tell the difference. I ran the refurbed 3 for another 3 years, happily, before eventually replacing it with a XS3.

…and welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

Wheat do I think? Give it a listen. You may hear barley any improvement or it may sound oatily different. You don’t want to be cerealy changing things so it may be better to look at a Nait XS3.

4 Likes

All depends on how much dough he’s got.

3 Likes

I have had the Nait 5Si on my main system when I first started with Naim and now have a Nait 3 on a second study system.

The Nait 5Si is clearer and brighter sounding. I thought it was pretty good. The Nait 3 is warmer sounding (possibly needs service) and is very different in character.

I wouldn’t necessarily consider the Nait 5Si as an upgrade.

I’m using a Thorens TD160 on the Nait 3 so it’s a vintage system. When I had the Nait 5Si I had it paired with the CD5Si. It was pretty good, but moved on so much since. My memory was the Nait 5Si and CD5Si was detailed, clear and slightly bright.

If you want to upgrade on a Nait 3 maybe look higher up in the Nait range to an XS2 or XS3 or Supernait 1, 2 or 3. Separates could be a consideration as well.

My Nait 3 is in a small room and am very pleased with this classic.

1 Like

Can I just jump in here and ask if anyone knows how the amplification in the Atom compares to that in the Nait 5si?

Thanks gthack

1 Like

Thanks Dan

1 Like