NAP 135 question

I’m looking at a pair of nap 135 with non-consecutive serial numbers. They were manufactured in the same year though. Does this have negative impact when using them as a pair?

Probably not, but it depends on when both were last serviced (and were they serviced together) and also what year they were made.

1 Like

From the serial numbers they were built in 1996. Service history is not clear, but I’ll have them re-capped together.

OK, 1996 should be fine. My concern was if they were from '93 - that when H&F stopped making transformers and Naim moved to Nuvotem (as did many H&F people, so I’m told).

2 Likes

Thanks, Richard!

Now a follow up question, since I’m new to the monoblock. My system is 82/hicap-dr/200, the 135s will replace the NAP200. In terms of connectivity, should I:

1. Assume ch1 is left channel and ch2 is right channel? if true, then
  2. One cable from hicap-dr mono output to 135 ch1 and connect it to the left speaker; 2nd cable from hicap-dr mono output to 135 ch2 and connect it to the right speaker.
  3. There is no connection between the 135s, correct?
  4. Anything above is incorrect or I missed anything?

Thanks for your help in advance, I tried to search the 135 manual but couldn’t get a clear answer.

Hui

1 Like

Yes, CH1 = Left, CH2 = Right. The Din to XLR cables are handed - The RED band Goes to CH2 - Right. Just think Red = Right.

1 Like

Sorry just seen this. Does this mean that we should not buy 135s made before 93? I have seen a pair made in 88.

Not a problem. Only would be an issue if one was say 1988 and the other 1994.

1 Like

We limp on with a pair of 1991 NAP135s. They seem to sound quite good.

Best regards, BF

4 Likes

This may help : )

5 Likes

Thanks for the picture! So the mono cables are identical function wise, the green/red band is just to help identify the 2 channel?

Note that they Red and Green bands are wired differently. Hence why Red band to Right channel (CH2).