NAS drive set up for a numpty

Please go easy on me, i’m new to this side of audio.

I am about to buy a Qnap ts251+ plus drives, and will be using dbpoweramp and Asset upnp. Having done searches for information, what I am becoming aware of is the need for good file structure and tagging. Can’t seem to find what constitutes good file structure and tagging though.

In simple terms, what should I be doing to create a trouble free experience?

I have about 1000 cds to rip, fairly eclectic tastes, not much in the way of classical (about 50 cds) and a number of magazine cover compilation cds. I will also be buying a fair amount of hi res downloads in time to come.

Cheers in advance!

Graeme thats’s the set-up I use and it works really well. On the old forum I posted a YouTube clip on the set procedure for the QNAP there’s a guy that takes you through right from opening up the box - had me up and running in about 30 mins. Try a search on YouTube something like QNAP TS251+ set up or you might be luckily and find something here in the archive section.

The other thing you might want to consider is a back up regime.

There are much better people on the forum to advise on file structure etc but do post if you have any problems with the set-up.

2 Likes

I had a discussion about Qnap and backups last week on this forum

No need to worry about a file structure. The media player/server will sort everything out.

I create a folder. Name it the date it was created.
Rip approx 30 albums into it.

Create another folder. Name it the date it was created.

And so on.

Makes backing up a lot easier. I only backup the latest folder.

I use Qnaps NetBak replicator to backup to a HD in a PC and an external USB HD. The music is actually ripped on the PC, then backed up to the NAS for streaming.

2 Likes

Graeme…it’s a little dated now but there’s some great background information on the whole ripping methodology and related topics.