NAS - QNAP - Configs & Tweaks

Hello, I’m still learning things on the NAS front and the more I look around the QNAP the more I wonder how it works. :smiley:

My dealer set my QNAP up and it’s worked without a hitch since I’ve owned it. I do the updates as advised and that’s about it really.

Someone was asking me how I handle storage and I basically said I have no idea b/c well I don’t.

I got to looking around like I do and I can’t ascertain whether or not my drives are getting backed up.

I see there’s a RAID Group 1 which I think indicates the storage group but not sure.

My specs. The speed of the nas seems okay, I get occasional hang ups but I think it’s more Naim app related. I’m not sure if this is a good processor or not.

Looks to me like your two disks are set up in a Raid 1 configuration which basically means the data is mirrored from one disk to the other. So if one disk fails the other in theory should be able to continue , it provides a recovery mechanism. It’s not the same as back-up, bear in mind any issues e.g. malware on one disk will be replicated to the other disk.

It’s an Intel Celeron dual-core 1.6GHz processor…should be fine for disk access, what else do you do with the NAS?

Thanks, I use strictly for HiFi. I’ve seen some discussion around the sonics of single core and dual core and was curious.

I just realized all the external drives I have are only 2 TB so I need to get a bigger external drive so I can do some backups.

How many albums do you have at present 2TB May be enough.As you probably know you can set up a recurring like weekly backup automatically and then periodically do a manual backup to different usb drive and store off site. You can also set up cloud backup with Dropbox,Amazon etc.

Thanks, I have just under 6K albums. Approx 4K in FLAC and 2K in AIFF. If I can get 2TB to work for now that’d be great. I just use the external storage option under the storage menu, right?

Raid is not a back up.