ND5 XS2 - Synology

Hello,
I am fairly new to the world of streamers as have listened mostly to vinyl.
As of late I have listened to lossless files via a macbook connected to the amp through a dragonfly red.
I am considering upgrading to a proper streamer and after researching a while I would be opting for an nd5 xs2. I have been advised to install a NAS as well and given reliance on Itunes it appears synology would be the better alternative (Ds218/ds418).
Has anyone experienced compatibility/connectivity issues between these items? if not what would be the best connection?

router -> ethernet -> nas -> wifi -> streamer
router -> wifi -> nas -> usb (other wired connections possible?) -> streamer
router -> wifi -> nas -> wifi -> streamer

Many thanks for your help

No problems with Naim & Synology compatibility.
Best avoid wifi if at all possible, ethernet is best & incidentally the only wired connection type for this set up. If you must go wifi then its only possible between router & streamer. The iPad or Android control point is wifi.
Your suggested connectivity will not work, the router sits between NAS & Streamer (see drawing).
Depending where all your bits are located, it might make for a simpler wire routing to incorporate a switch. (see 2nd drawing)

Many Thanks Mike very clear.
Unfortunately it will take some proper work (or a lot of ethernet cable…) to be able to bring an access point to the HIFI location so i guess the streamer will have to be connected via wifi to the network.

So just to confirm. The music will be the streamed form the nas/router to the streamer via WIFI.

In any case, would it have been possible to play the music via a USB connection directly between the nas and ndx?

Many Thanks,
Giacomo

I don’t know for sure as I’ve not actually done it, I’m sure someone who has can chip in.