nDac to a NDX an upgrade or a lateral move

Hello Everyone,
This is my first post here. I have recently started my journey into the world of Naim HI-FI.
I acquired a supernait 2 with a Hi Cap DR from the original owner and a used nDac from my local naim dealer. I have been using this set up for about 2 months and am still getting the feel of what it can do. I also switched speakers and have spent most of that time trying to get them dialed in just right. Recently my dealer called and said he had a trade in NDX w/ an xp5 xs that I could get for a reasonable price. My Question is given the older streaming technology is this a worth wild upgrade ? Would getting a xps2 or something similar be money better spent ?

3 Likes

Hi, the NDAC is one of the potential upgrade paths for the NDX, so I would think carefully before you get rid of it. Putting an XPS or 555PS is a good further upgrade for the NDAC. It also benefits from a good digital transport to feed it, and an NDX or ND5XS via its SPDIF output is a good option here. These are old streaming products though, and they lack many of the features that the Mk2 models have, so again, think carefully about whether they will satisfy your long term needs.

As a general note I’m often not really sure when a thread is best suited to Hi-Fi Corner or to Streaming Audio, since the Streamers are also Hi-Fi gear, and DACs are usually added to streamers by now, which are different tech from CD and analogue, and so on.

ps: and welcome to the forum Milspec1 !

1 Like

Thanks for the input. That is what I figured. I will keep a look out for an xps to pair with the ndac.

3 Likes

Good choice! An even better choice would be a 555PS if you can find one at a reasonable price. Older non-DR versions of either will be fine with the NDAC. Just steer clear of very old XPS from before 2003 which is not compatible. Also budget for a recap on any older PSU.

There are no incompatible XPS PSUs for the nDAC.