NDS or NDX2 ? Dilemme

Hello everyone.

That’s my problem. I have been experimenting with dematerialization for 3 years and I am very satisfied. I started small and very simple to “tame” the thing being a non-geek and not wanting “headaches” during use and installation.

I currently have a BS Vault 2 with NDac/XPS. I am very satisfied with it. I optimized the network with an Uptone Etheregen + Paul Hynes psu + external clock, but also good quality RJ45s.

But, I want to evolve and I think it is possible to go further in the SQ…

I was recently able to test a Qute at home, then an NDX as a streamer on my NDac/XPS, no photo, it goes further in all areas. But for its price the BS is an excellent streamer coupled with the dac. I could have gone on like this for a long time…

After this experience, I want to change streamer. So I hesitate between an NDS, and used NDX2. The NDS is certainly exceptional but the fact of not being able to exploit it to the max with a 555 PS, that Qobuz is not native on the app puts me off.
While the NDX2 is certainly different, a notch below, but where everything is integrated. I was thinking of coupling it to the NDac.
I really like the Naim Dac for its PRaT, and its very analog character. The NDX2 /NDac/XPS should be very similar to the NDS due to the use of the same D/A chips for the digital conversion circuits. What do you think ?

Otherwise do you think that an ND5 XS (1 or 2) as a streamer can reach the same level of quality since I will only use the streaming part? Or is there a gap at the SQ level compared to a bare ndx2?

Complicated huh?

If you could help me in my thinking.

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

To me the obvious choice would be an ND5XS2 if you keep the NDAC. NDS/XPS may be on a very similar level in terms of sound quality and it’s one less box but it’s also old tech, may need expensive servicing, and lacks native support for some services.

4 Likes