NDX2/552 vs ND555/252

Current system

NDX2/555PS/252/SCDR/300/ATC40’s

I think I have one move left before end game

Should it be to ND555 or 552

Source first I know but the 552 is supposed to be a special thing !

If I’m honest… the 252 may be a little dull for my tastes… in many ways I preferred the 282 sonic signature but certainly appreciate the sound stage and detail brought to the table by the 252.

Thanks

At that level a home demo is essential. For me streaming tech will be updated more regularly and the 552 is arguably for life!

Gary

4 Likes

I had the same amplification as you with an NDS/555DR and made the move to a 552 last year and have never looked back.

I’ve currently got an ND555 on loan whilst I wait for mine to be delivered. I never heard the ND555 with the 252 but I can imagine it would again be a big improvement for you.

Have you got any other sources as the 552 would improve those too ?

I’ve been using the same amplification for several years my only source has been a ND555 for the last couple if years.

Unfortunately my ND555 has had a couple of problems and the dealer has loaned me a NDS and a NDX2 and as good as they both are the system is at a different level with the ND555 installed as one would expect.

Good advice on a home demo if possible different rooms, speakers and ears you might think differently…

Hopefully will be looking at a home demo of a NAC 552 later this year?

Come on! We all know you will do both upgrades sooner or later. 552 first followed by the inevitable. Especially since you already own the required PS.

1 Like

I have/had the same system…currently have on demo an NDX2 vs my trusty NDS…
With a 555PS on the NDX2 it’s pretty damn good.
The 552 is excellent…
For me (IMHO) I don’t get the value proposition of the ND555, sure it will sound ‘better’, however given the not unsubstantial additional cost vs NDX2 and the strong/stronger competition, the 552 makes sense to me…enjoy.