New Digital Transport/Streamer

I’ve been using my ND5XS for several years, feeding Chord Hugo (original) and preferred the sound to the Naim’s internal DAC.

With advances in digital technology and the improved Naim streaming platform, I was going to replace it with either the NDX2 or replacement ND5XS2 (since I’m not too bothered about a screen).

I’m aware that certain members still prefer the Hugo to the internal DAC in the Naim players (even on NDX2!) - though there does seem some redundancy by not using the Naim alone.

I’ve not had the opportunity to compare (with or without Hugo), though I do definitely prefer it on my current older Naim.

The rest of my system isn’t Naim (ATC Active), so I was also wondering whether to consider a transport/streamer from the Auralic range.

Any thoughts?

Go for it.
I never quite understood the redundancy argument. It’s the same approach Naim use in the NDX2 for example with alternate PSUs, or multiple inputs on the NACs, it about providing usage options. Naim build their new streamers to provide digital or analogue out. They can’t do both at the same time, as the system has to optimise itself for either.
It’s not economic so I understand in talking to Naim to produce models artificially hampered by removing one of the output options.
In using the Naim streamer providing a digital signal output, at least it has an auxiliary analogue feed for testing or backup purposes should you need it… and vice versa of course.

The new Naim streamers produce a seemingly highly performant SPDIF framing signal with good aggregation capabilities, and you can choose to some extent what DSP the Naim streamer undertakes to that signal. The Naim streamers provide seemingly a galvanically isolated SPDIF output which helps performance as well… especially with the Hugo Original.
I use my NDX2 with various DACs, including my Hugo Original… which in some ways is still the best DAC I have heard musically… although technically there are others better.