New NDX 2

I have been living with the NDX 2 for just over a week now. It’s plumbed into a 282 with Supercap, then onto a 250.2 feeding ATC SCM12’s.

I’d been ripping steadily for a few weeks so have most of my favourite albums saved in lossless FLAC and attached via USB. The player also has a wired ethernet connection via normal home networking equipment (no snake oil expensive cabling).

From purchase it was left running a radio stream to start the run in process and also used to listen to TV via Toslink.

My first observation from switch on was the price was justified. I’ve been listening to my trusty CDX 2 for 14 years and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of music, but the NDX 2 instantly improved all aspects of the experience. Over a week in and I am now beginning to relax into listening to the music and ignoring the urge to press NEXT.

Without describing paragraphs and paragraphs of thoughts, I’ll just mention some well used words; near silent sound floor, sound stage, timing, a near live listening experience and control. I’ve had occasions when the CDX 2 sounded as good, but the NDX 2 has been constantly great. To say I’ve been blown away is an understatement.

I’ve also come to the realisation that TIDAL is probably going to be my main source. I’ve spent a few hours comparing physical CD against rip against TIDAL HIFI. Every time, TIDAL is either the same or better than both CD and local rip. I’ve also compared some Qobuz Hi-Res downloads against TIDAL and can discern no real difference. Whatever those TIDAL guys and girls are doing, the service sure sounds musical and engaging. Apple Music viaAirplay also sounds great even with the lower quality stream.

So far not one drop-out, pause, streaming wait or any other issues with any of the sources. Testament I would say to solid and secure software. Chromecast occasionally drops from the iOS TIDAL App but that is not a NAIM issue.