New Speaker Considerations

I am looking to upgrade my Monitor Audio RS6s having enjoyed them for a number of years and, having read feedback and reviews, decided to take the locally made route. I have narrowed down the choice to the following -

IPL Transmission Lines
Kralk TDB8

Some thoughts and advice would be appreciated.

Dave

Anyone got any thoughts?

What are you looking to drive them with Dave ?

I’ve no experience of either but the Kralks look like a lot of fun and seem to be in high demand. I think there are a few people on the pink forum who use them who may be able to give you a bit more info.

Well, I’m using the NAP250DR as my amplification, with a Uniti 1 as the main source and control. They work well together.

Personally I have found transmission line bass to sound better than other designs I’ve heard, but clearly the mid/top havevro br right, too.

I haven’t heard either.if you can find someone who has built either, it would be worth trying to get to hear…

Yes, I’ve just had a look at that. They seem very complimentary about them. They seem to get good reviews too. Thanks for the heads up

1 Like

Too many speaker options honestly. People can list dozens of options, each to his/her own taste.

And if you’re buying without an in-home audition, buyer beware.

New speaker buying is quite the adventure. I’ve just done it, but only considered speakers I could actually get in my room for an audition. Otherwise it’s way too risky.

I’m wondering whether a £700 speaker really would be an upgrade. I’m also thinking that a Uniti1 really isn’t good enough for a 250. Whichever speaker you choose, try it at home first, otherwise it’s sonething of a lottery.

@anon4489532 The 250DR works very well with the original Uniti, having had that upgraded with the 24-bit dac. It definitely was an upgrade on the NAP200 I had before, without a doubt and I’m very happy with the performance of the two items working together.