Next upgrade...?

Hi all

Forum newbie here and long term naim owner.

Looking for thoughts (and experiences) in the quest to spend yet more money…

Current system looks like this :

New ND5XS2
Rega Planar 6 with Naim stageline
CD5Si (no desire to upgrade this path as hardly use any more)
NAC 202
NAP 200
HiCap
NAPSC
Wilson Benesch Arc stand mounts
(It sits on a Fraim and has Tellurium QB2 cable)

I’ve just bought the streamer and really pleased with it but has left me wondering which way to go next.
I’m thinking next way is to either upgrade the NAC to 282, NAP to 250 or the speakers to something else.

I’m looking for the biggest bang for my buck as won’t spend again this year and budget is circa £5k (although I don’t need to spend it all…)

What do you think…(and if speakers, to what…)

Thanks!

I would upgrade the source, whichever one you use the most.

An NDX2 is the obvious choice if you use the streamer the most or the next Rega up in the range if vinyl is your preference.

A 282 is also an amazing upgrade and works well with a Hicap and 200. I made the same move many years ago but I would probably do the source first unless a good deal on a 282 came up first.

Upgrade the 282 to a 72. You can even use your hicap still.

1 Like

Great minds think alike! I’d be taking back the ND5 and getting an NDX2, and swapping the 6 for an 8. I got an 8 a couple of weeks ago and it’s so much better than the 6. I certainly wouldn’t be looking at new speakers.

3 Likes

I agree that the source is what you should upgrade first. An NDX2 would be a good fit. Alternatively, and potentially cheaper, keep the ND5 and run a DAC from its SPDIF out.

1 Like

I agree with what has already been said.

I’d go:

1. NDX
  2. XPS
  3. NAC 282
  4. NAP 250

I wouldn’t upgrade the power amp before upgrading source and pre-amp. Each step will give you a nice lift in performance. Good times! :slight_smile: