Old topic but 250-2 new transformer hum

I have been running a 250-2 for a few months- no sum from it at all. Two nights ago Mrs Bruss says what’s that and describes a hum loud enough for her to think an insect has got in to the room. I hear nothing but turn the music down and can then hear it. Mrs Bruss says it suddenly clicked in. I put tit down to a fridge in the other room and the door being open. Close room door and carry on. Last night after switching music off to go to bed I can now hear a loud hum and investigate. It is the 250 and is I guess a transformer hum.
This morning I have disconnected everything, turned off everything electrical in the house, and finally moved the 250 to a separate room and circuit - I have two circuits and dist boxes serving the house.

The hum is still there.

What could be causing a hum to suddenly develop?

1 Like

Have you eliminated all possible culprits within your house? Either by switching off individual appliances or whole circuits to narrow it down? Also, have you added any new network equipment to your LAN that might be causing this hum?
If you have eliminated all possible sources within your house, there’s the possibility that the issue lies outside. Maybe a nearby neighbour, or some new equipment on a farm or industrial unit, but of course that becomes more difficult to track down.

Bloody annoying TX hums. My cd5si is noisey. My Ndx2, connected to the same socket is silent.