Ovator S-400 - the hankering is so, so strong!

Hi forum,
anyone know if Naim supplied these in Natural Ash? I would love a pair to match my full fat Fraim. I have been reading up on the Ovators and they sound like a very intriguing speaker indeed, of course i have no experience with how they sound and have only seen them in the flesh, once. I’ve read many mixed opinions on them but i can’t ever imagine that Naim would produce a speaker that i personally wouldn’t like the sound of.

Some here may know my enthusiasm for n-SATs which i have been enjoying immensely and i can’t ever see me parting with them. However, every now and then i’d like to wheel out a pair of floors-standers when feeling in a party mode. S-400s seem to fit that bill. What do you reckon? Or shall i let the hankering just wear off? It’s been over two years now :thinking:

I don’t think so. Would cherry do you?

Difficult to get some of these hifi ideas from the mind without actually getting them over and done with. Reminds me of that Elton John song from Caribou……Ticking

Remember Mama said
ticking, ticking

1 Like

If you love what your n-SATs do why change?

If you can’t get the Ovators out of your mind, try and find a pre-loved example at a dealer and see if you can arrange a home demo, or buy with a return option if they don’t work out for you.

Not sure they came out in oak Stephen

I had a pair in cherry

They are certainly different from the ”normal”naim speakers and not necessarily in a bad way at all

I quite liked them and probably didn’t give them enough time before I moved onto Neat speakers

Evidently they were a tough sell here in Australia and NZ

I think you will find polarising opinions on them

1 Like

Sorry guys - correction Natural Ash

I’ve edited my post.

Only cherry and rosewood Stephen - I remember now

They are a great looking speaker in the flesh so to speak