Pairing Naim Uniti Atom with speakers in an awkward room

Hi to the community,

I love my music, but I’m not technical, nor would I describe myself an audiophile. I’m about to purchase a Naim Uniti Atom to cover my musical needs for my lounge and dining area. This is one big space approx. 25ft. long by 15 ft. wide, with a 8.5 ft. ceiling (total about 2,500 cubic ft. sq.) Hard floors with scatter rugs here and there, stone walls.

The obvious position where the speakers would go isn’t ideal, but I’m wondering if I can get away with it? Owing to some cumbersome built-in furniture, including a ceiling-high bookshelf, the speakers can’t be positioned to point length-ways into the space, instead they need to sit in one half of the area (the lounge), which is approx. 15 ft. by 12.5 ft. - about 1,500 cubic ft. sq. but with the following restrictions…

• Speakers need to point across the width of the room (15 ft.) to the main listening position.
  • The distance to the listening position from each speaker is not equal; the left speaker is restricted to 10 ft., whereas the right speaker needs to be 12 ft. away. (otherwise it blocks a doorway)

So my questions would be:

1. How much sound degradation is there likely to be with speakers that are not equal distant from the listening position?
  2. Given that the speakers are firing across the width of the overall space at one end, should I be looking for speakers that are designed for medium sized rooms, or small rooms?