Permanent or temporary listening position

A recent change to room layout has sparked my interest into room acoustics, speaker and listening position. It is a complicated subject and I am still learning the basics. I realise that most listening rooms are significantly compromised and to get the best listening experience speaker and listening position are critical particularly before adding some room treatment.
Setting up a listening chair in the optimum position can be tricky particularly if we don’t have dedicated rooms and domestic harmony is to be maintained.
I wondered how many people have a didicated chair which they move to optimum listening position for serious listening and then replace. It seems quite a simple solution rather than fighting with or putting up with the major compromises the room brings.
I realise this does not fix all the problems but can make a significant improvement.

The didicated chair doesn’t have to come from Knotty Ash!

1 Like

But comes with a feather duster to keep it all clean?

1 Like

I’m all for a compromise… my chair is slightly off centre to make sure that the significant other can enjoy the music as well.

2 Likes

What size is your room ? A large one can take a designated area with a dedicated position.
I have a smallish room. If I took to having the speakers positioned like most do, and often recommended - as sitting along the back wall equally, I would have seating problems.
The sitting position itself was considered first that’s naturally in the flow. Then the speakers positioned towards that spot. A bit of fine tuning to get them not too close to walls and corners. Maybe lucky in that I can fit the whole system plus a big screen within a corner with no ill effects.

2 Likes