Planning my next move from Spendor D7 and Uniti Nova

Hi everyone,

I would love some opinions on what to do next and how to achieve the type of sound im after. This is my first post, so i’m new to all this!

I’ve owned my Uniti Nova and Spendor D7’s (not 7.2) for about 2.5 years now. I think i sort of jumped into the system without really analysing what i wanted. I’ve come to the realisation that i like the sound, but don’t love it and actually find the sound after awhile hard work – almost too sharp, however i really like the bass! So my questions are:

– Are Spendor D7 and Uniti Nova just not a good pairing?
– Would changing speakers be the way to go – is it just the character of the speakers i’m finding hard to live with?
– Would Spendor Classic line be more relaxed? (and on that note would the Nova drive Classic 100’s?)
– Is it the Nova that’s the issue ? Ive read it can be quite a ‘dry’ sound?
– Or is it my room, and in fact the pairing is a complementary match.

I know ultimealty its my ear, but what im feeling is that i’m just not that absorbed by what in hearing and it can get a bit fatiguing.

Any help or steer would be greatly appreciated

You probably need a better source and amplifier thank the Nova, D7s can be a bit revealing. This could get expensive though :astonished:

If you have a dealer nearby it might be better to listen to a more balanced system and see where you go from there.

I had the D7.2 and never could get along with them in my room. Extremely detailed, but they never grabbed me. This was with Accuphase and Line Magnetic amplification and Lumin/rega sources. I’ve heard the D7 can be a bit brighter still than the D7.2.

That said, those speakers would do better with a SN3 I’d imagine. Not a bad place to look first. See if you can do an at home demo.

1 Like

I used D7s for several years when I upgraded my Olive system in 2015 and preferring them over PMC speakers.