Power supply of Stageline N

Hi all,

My current setup:

-NAC202 with Hicap DR
-NAP200
-nDac with XP5XS
-Stageline N powered by NAC202

Should I buy highcap or flatcap xs to power the stageline N in order to get better performance? Is the difference significant?

Thanks all!

I’d put a napsc on the 202 before doing anything else. Whether another Hicap is worthwhile rather depends on which turntable and cartridge you have.

Thx for your reply. I already got NAPSC on NAC202.

I am new in Vinyl world, I am now using a used Pro-Ject Perspective with 9 tonearm and Ortofon 2M Bronze.

I think it could be a good idea to ask your dealer whether they can arrange a demo of each option; I think the Hicap will definitely be the better of the two, but by how much I couldn’t say, and it is a lot more money.

I’m sure that’s very good, but whether it’s sensible to use a Hicap/Stageline with it I’m less sure. With my Rega P6/Ania I use a Rega Fono MC, which costs £250 and matches perfectly. For the cost of a Hicap you could probably swap the 202 for a 282, which would improve streaming performance too. Just a thought. It depends partly on how important records are to you. Say you later bought a better deck, such as a Rega 8, you’d probably want a Rega cartridge and phono stage, so the extra Hicap would be redundant. As Richard says, you really need to give the options a listen.

Worth a listen with a Hicap, I wouldn’t bother with a FCXS. You will need a Naim 4-5pin interconnect to return the signal to one of the unused inputs on the NAC202.

I have some agreement with HH’s view on the NAC282 too. My general view of power supplies in NaimWorld is that it is not so much which power supplies you have, it’s what you put them on that counts.

Thx for your reply!

It makes sense!

1 Like

I’m using a Stageline N from AUX 2 of a 282/HC in my second system and fed from a Decca it’s surprised me how good it is.