PS for 272

Hi

Thinking of adding a PSU to 272. Can’t afford an XPS-DR, so keen to understand if XPS2 would provide a good improvement?

Thanks
Paul

As the 272 was designed contemporaneously with DR power supplies, I would wait and save up for a used XPSDR. On the second hand market the price difference is about £600 which is not insurmountable, so it’s worth waiting a while. The discussion of non Naim supplies is not allowed on the forum, and if you use one you may invalidate your warranty.

I agree with HH. The stock power supply is quite good so better wait until your investment provides a significant improvement over what will likely be smaller improvement. That being said, I only auditioned the XPSDR and the PS555DR so I have no actual experience of how much improvement an XPS2 would actually make. Are you able to get a home demo?

Can demo a dr but that’s 3k from a dealer ex-demo and 2.5 on Fleabay. Xps2 is more like £1.2k which fits the budget

Just a thought but XPS2’s have been the same price for a long time. Maybe buy one and if you think the difference is not that great just sell it back on…

Yes, that’s what I was thinking…it should wash out on EBay without much of a hit.

I’ve used (0) 272 bare, (1) 272 + ‘Bear’, (2) 272 + 555PS non-DR, (3) 272 + XPSDR & (4) 272 + 555PSDR.

(0) Great sound & great value
(1) Horrible dismantled music
(2) Slow & ploddy
(3) Enjoyable but subtle lift in performance
(4) Bigger performance shift than (0)-(3) but question value for money

Your mileage may very well vary.

G

1 Like

Hi strange never felt 555ps non dr was slow or ploddy…when I changed to dr … I noticed more detail and realism… I think the non dr 555 is fantastic … secondhand… it lifts the 272 to really fantastic sound quality… just not as good as dr.

Mine was 2006 un-serviced, which may have accounted for it.

G

1 Like

Just spotted a similar thread where someone was asking about the same question regarding 272/250.2 as a starting point. I have a 250DR.