Radio Listening Data 3rd Qtr 2021

Its been a while since we’ve seen the UK radio listening data as RAJAR locked down after Q1 2020 & have just published the first data set since then.

All Radio Listening - Share Platform (%)
Q3 2019 Q1 2020 Q3 2021
FM 43.3 41.4 34.2
All Digial 56.8 58.6 65.8
DAB 39.7 40.2 43.0
DTV 4.2 4.4 4.7
OnLine 13.0 14.0 18.1

FM has taken a big drop, albeit over 2 years but its still the biggest year on year change in the records.
I wonder if this changes BBC decision to hold off on FM switch off - finger crossed it won’t.
On-Line (web radio) & has shown a good year on year growth, great news in my view & for Naim’s iRadio.

2 Likes

Question :thinking: how can they possibly collect data on fm use after all a basic fm radio does not transmit only receives. Internet yes data via server but fm and dab ???

By RAJAR getting people like me to detail all their radio listening in a given week. I’ve been doing it for a few years now. I do one week in every four, entering via a smartphone app exactly when & where I listened, what station and on what broadcast type (i.e. FM or DAB). You may be pleased to hear I faithfully record all my FM listening to keep the figures favourable.

I’m a bit miffed they haven’t published the data for lockdown - I was recording everything religiously in that time!

Mark

1 Like

During a road trip to Scotland this summer I foolishly tried listening to the cricket on DAB. Total waste of time. Constant drop outs. Good old wheezy, whistley AM to the rescue. At home I’ve been relegated to the front room for home office duties and away from the main lounge where the NAT01 lives. A simple Roberts radio is my front room R3 companion with a choice of DAB or FM. Even on a little Radio FM sounds so much better.

1 Like

They collect data just as Ebor said, I’ve been doing it for a number of years.