Real Power into 2-2.5Ohm amp by naim

Hi,
I’m new here,
I want to buy a Naim system that delivers real power into 2.5ohm loads.
I’m not an expert, so I ask for advice.
I’m not interested only in new gear, I’m interested in budget, because less I spend in amp, more I have for source.
I also really like vintage gear, not only for the style.
Just to say, if budget allows me, as source i think at an old nds with 555 or XPS DR (or not, depends).

All naim amps should be able to handle a 2+ ohm load … though some ( like a 500 series ) better than others
But care will need to be taken with correct speaker cable and to monitor how warm the amp gets untill your happy all is well

Actually the NAP500 is the one amp in the Naim range that may have some trouble with an impedance of 2 ohms, due to its bridged design.

The issue I see here though is that while Naim amps are generally considered load tolerant, and should indeed be OK down to around 2 ohms, they were never really optimised for this kind of situation. If that’s your priority then you should probably look at something more suitable like one or two big muscle amps, where the ability to operate into a near short-circuit was their who reason to be.

Out of interest what are these speakers with such an onerous load?

1 Like

Wilson Benesch, I look at many of them, like Chimeras, Vectors, Acts, Discovery.

some easier than others obviously.

Ah, If is possible I prefer to connect my HIFI system at my HT system, like I can with SN3, but i don’t know if SN3 is enough for Chimeras.

Also with Hicap DR and maybe another 200 Dr in order to biampling them.

I also really like the olive Nac 52 ps52 (or SC) 250,

or the current line with 282-250 etc. (you have to suggest the best option)

or 252- 250 etc (same, 252-250 because I read the rules of upgrade first the pre instead of the power).

or also 72- 32.5 , 250 HIcap?

But i don’t know which one can handle, and i can’t try every combination.