Remote accessing usb

Hi - I have had my Unitistar for a year and am enjoying it immensely but have struck an issue which I can’t resolve.

I have ripped all my CDs (400) to a hard drive plugged into the rear USB port. I can access this from my iPhone and play all albums. However I can’t do so with the unitistar remote.

All advice is to navigate to the USB icon which I have done - it should offer rear or front USB options but doesn’t. I’ve tried the HDD in front and back USB ports but no joy. I’ve checked your forum but can’t find a resolution there.

Although happy to play stored music via the naim app on my iPhone, if I’m away from home the remote is the only option for others.

I’m not a techie sort but have been able to work my way through the setup, playing and ripping CDs, streaming, playing my collection of LPs, playing TV through the unitistar and speakers. I have a working understanding of the technology but have been unable to crack this one.

A step by step troubleshooting guide would be very helpful. Can you help?

Kind regards
Don Campbell
NZ Unitistar fan

Hi Don, my guess is that this problem is related to the fact that the Star has a dedicated ‘music store’ folder where it puts CD rips, and it treats this folder slightly differently to others. So if you remove that drive and stick it in a different USB port, it gets confused.

I would suggest that you copy the music to another USB drive. Just connect them both to a computer and use it to copy them, just like any other files you would move on a computer.
If my theory is correct, the copies should play from either USB port. (Perhaps you already have copies you could try? You should at least have a backup or two.)

Actually it’s more simple than that. You cannot browse files on a USB connected media with the remote. You have to use the app.

Here is the relevant bit in the online UnitiStar guide.