Roon Nucleus connection to ND5XS 2

I am new to the Naim forum, so I apologize in advance if this has been covered.
What is the correct way to connect a Roon Nucleus or Roon Nucleus + to my Naim ND5 XS 2 for the best quality?

Thank you in advance for any advice.

1 Like

The best way to connect the ND5XS2 and the Nucleus to your home network is via wired Ethernet. The ND5XS2 will be the Roon endpoint, the Nucleus acting as the Roon Core.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum. Exactly what @james_n said. Over the network is the only way between Nucleus and ND5XS2

This is very easy. Install the Roon app on your mobile devices / computers. Plug the Nucleus into your network, and ideally also the ND5XS2 (wired). Turn on the Nucleus and wait a minute. Start the Roon app and it should find the Nucleus as well as the ND5XS2

Roon has very good documentation and thatā€™s the best place to look for first steps

4 Likes

Thank you for the great advice.

Q. If I only have one high speed internet cable. What is the best connection path to get the best quality?.

Usage 30% onboard hiRes digital files - 60% Streaming, (Tidal Master & Qubuz)

Thank you.

Iā€™m not sure I understand the part about ā€œonly one high speed internet cableā€. This is what you most likely have to do:

The internet is connected to your router. The router probably provides wifi and has a few ethernet ports for wired connections to the local (ethernet) network.

One way is to connect the Nucleus and the ND5XS2 with ethernet cables to the ports of the router. However, this requires that you run both cables to the router - which may or may not be possible or convenient depending on the location of the router.