Roon tips and tricks

Morning all

Following the recent poll, it’s apparent that we have a lot of users on the Forum.

I am still in the middle of my trial but I am going to carry it on.

I thought it would be a great idea to get a thread going About tips and tricks, maybe features that aren’t obvious and other things that could help everyone’s experience going forward.

Cheers all. :+1:t2:

2 Likes
  1. Keep it simple.
  2. Read the Roon knowledge base.

(not necessarily in that order… )

@Simon-in-Suffolk

Hi Simon, have you experienced any of the Roon advanced settings that could help with anything?

:+1:t2:

Buy a lifetime sub :wink:

Ha, just have.

2 Likes

If using a digital transport with SPDIF output, limit RAAT to 24 bit… seems to improve things a little.

I’m relatively new to Roon, but by digging into Focus, Tags and Bookmarks, you can really take control of viewing your library. Well worth spending some time looking at how this side of Roon works.

Mark

4 Likes

Yes could not agree more. These powerful yet simple things help you access material in your library so much quicker and allow you to create custom views to some extent to show specific content once set you can forget it as it will always update the content your searching for with new additions. Shame this level of control is not on the general search but limited to what’s in your library only. Maybe one day they will find a way.

2 Likes

Oh wow, good call. I’m now using SPDIF to a nDAC from a ND5XS2

I’m sure a lot of people know this already, but bookmarks update automatically and tags don’t. Thus, for example, if you have a “Classical” bookmark and add another album with the genre “Classical” it’s included within that bookmark.

Creation of bookmarks is not as intuitive as it might be (in my opinion) but go through “Focus”, set the criteria and create the bookmark from there.

Stephen

2 Likes

I do not use DSP.
If you do, just upsample to max PCM, power of 2.

1 Like