Router question

I’m thinking of getting an ndx/xpsdr.
I have to wire my internet cable to my hifi room since I want to direct wire the ndx2 (rather than use WiFi). I will also use this router to WiFi my iPad which I will use to control the ndx2 with the Naim app and also the Quobuz app.
What router to get?
I’m in the US
Thanks, david

which ever router you choose I would also put a switch in between the router and NDX2

Antz, please elaborate on this
I’m a streaming novice so keep it simple
David

I was too before I got my NDX in 2014, from what I understand routers do not have great switches built in, so an external swtich from router to switch to NAS to source is the best set up

started with a Net gear GS 105 which is not expensive and now have CISCO 2960G

my NDX was wired through Devolo switches to start with which worked but not ideal, one of the best investments I made was gettting my NDX directly wired into router

so my map is Router>CISCO>NAS>NDX

i get 100mbs at NDX which is max signal, I only use NAS for FLAC don’t stream

If you are from USA I suggest a search of www US forums & ‘best of’s’ for US specific ‘routers’

Antz is right about poor switches in routers (wireless hubs), but modern hubs have OK full duplex switches these days.
I did have problems with my old hub in that it got very hot & started to deform the case, it was an ISP supplied model that they used between 2011/14. Its switch-set was the problem & a separate network switch fixed that. I’ve since moved on a few times & the ISP supplied wireless hub I now have is considered a world standard.
I expect any ‘normal’ user would wonder why I still have a separate switch, well I do detect a better SQ & I also use the switch to avoid a bunch of ethernet cables making the room look untidy, just the one cable between hub & switch does it for me.
This is a basic diagram of how to hook up with & without a network switch.

1 Like

Hi David -