Second career

Hi
Interested to know which members are on a totally different second career after retirement or redundancy etc? Something that needed retraining?
Not really interested in similar second careers.
I’ve retired after 30 yrs from the police and now am part time Council Bikeability Instructor. A mate of mine did 30 years in Police then became a qualified nurse.

3 Likes

4 years as a Para then became an accountant.
Totally different enough?

5 Likes

Oh yes. Thankyou.

Retraining: this is interesting because my take on it has been continued education.
After uni (environmental sciences with chemistry) I trained as an environmental health officer; disillusioned with local government I studied for an MBA and moved into environmental consultancy, which took me into strategic planning in Eastern Europe. Returning from abroad I read for a PhD so that I could have a voice in a NGO.
Now I’m open to something new …

2 Likes

I didn’t really have a second career. Instead, I took a career break in my mid-30s. A friend wanted a part-time pub manager so I did this for a few years alongside doing some other jobs. I then cut out the other jobs and spent 3 years doing a degree and pub management. After this, I went back into the social care and mental health arena, sometimes doing more professional training as and when. staying in this until I retired.

2 Likes

Was a residential social care worker and qualified social worker from age 19 until 61. Retired early. Now I work in retail.

Similar skills needed, lol, but at least now no in-depth family assessment required, or indeed the rigours of Child Protection cases. I sleep better now.

4 Likes

Interesting thread. Been a management consultant for best part of 30 years. Now looking to build a bit of a portfolio of activities including writing, lecturing and the most different being minimalist landscape photography

2 Likes