Speaker Advice - NDX 2 Streamer - First Time Naim User..!

Hi All,

What a great resource here!

Well, I am new to Naim products and I have just bought the NDX 2 streamer which is fantastic!

I am still using my old John Shearne Phase 2 amp and Shearne 3.5 power amp bi -wired to old Ruarke Sceptre stand mount speakers.

I recently went to my local dealer and listened to some various speakers and the sound was so different through each it left me a bit unsure as what might be best…(I didn’t take my amps only speakers and the Supernait amp didn’t get on with the Sceptres…

Currently I plan to keep my amps as they are in good nic and I can only afford a speaker upgrade at this point…

I like the Sceptres slightly laid back character although they are lacking a tiny bit of bass for my tastes.

If anyone has any suggestions for a small/medium size room speaker (up to 3k ish) I would be very grateful!

Cheers all,

Jamie.

There are so many. I’d suggest listening to some at your dealers. Proac, spendor, pmc, Sonus faber, kudos, neat, audiovector, focal …… there’s a long list of suitable candidates.

There are lots of good choices, as @robert_h says. I rate Neat Xplorers particularly highly, for example, but can think of a dozen candidates.

However, I don’t know your amps or your room, and both will be critical in making a good choice. If at all possibl, I’d enourage you to ask a dealer to demonstrate possible speakers in your room with your intended amplification - without that, any test will tell you very little.

Good luck!

1 Like

It would be interesting to know more about what you are dissatisfied with and what improvements you are seeking. The Sceptres are by all accounts fine speakers, which you say you like, and I wonder if you should be looking at the amplifier first. The Supernait 3 is the obvious choice, but you say it didn’t get on with the Sceptres, and I wonder what exactly you mean by that.