Speaker Shananigans

For the last couple of years I have been using Focal 1008be and for the last six months I have been getting superb results that I have thoroughly enjoyed. Last week I had an incident involving two cats and one speaker - which has led to to reconsider my system setup.

One friend lent me a pair of Geddes Abbey speakers in wonderful battleship grey. A bit of a change from the Focals, and NOT a one way street.

My system currently consists of three front ends:
LP12/ARO/DV20/Geddon via EAR868PL;
Linn Klimax DS/1 Renew via EAR868PL; or
Oppo 105D;
Nord One UP 3 Channel NC500.

The Geddes are non-reflex, but the large bass cone moves a lot more air than the Focal, and I loved what these did in bass detail and definition. Where they lost out to the Focals was in sound staging and sheer energy, but I wouldn’t want to over-egg the pudding, we are talking nuance here. I really enjoyed these boxes.

Another friend offered to lend me his Naim SBL MkI. These have sat in his home from when he was burgled a couple of decades ago, stealing his Naim kit apart from these boxes. I went over and collected the speakers this morning and took a couple of hours setting them up, including spinning round the metal tabs and remasticing the mid/bass boxes. Left them for four hours and started listening at 3pm.

To date I have only listened with the Oppo, and my impression is OH BOY. Like the Geddes the SBL lose out in imaging to the Focals, but they have bags of energy, and I think I may well prefer the top end, which is detailed and a tad kinder than the Focals beryllium; and bags of controlled bass.

Over the next couple of weeks I will be playing with the other front ends, as well as firing up my EAR534 and a brace of bolt together CB250s I have.

I have been offered the SBLs at a good price and I think they will be staying.

1 Like

Hi,