Stageline N

Can i use my Flatcap2x to power a Stageline N? It already powers a NAC112, NAP150 and a CD5. If so do i use Signal out B as per photo?

Only two items can be powered directly from a flat cap 2x but as it’s powering your pre amp if you use the powered AUX socket for the stageline the power will come from the Flatcap via the pre.

Did you by chance compare the sound with cables tied up to that with them loose? It makes a difference higher up the range but I’ve no experience of the 112/150 (though I had a CD5x, it got me back into Naim).

Thanks. So does that mean i use the blanked out Aux 2 on the pre amp in the photo or the one next to it?
Will try cables loose.
Also is a CD5i ok with Flatcap2x?

Also don’t tighten the collars on the dins, keep them unattached.

I didn’t think the 5i had an upgrade socket for a power supply, the 5 did and 5x and 5xs and all of those benefit from a flatcap though purists would use the matching one from the same series.

On the other matter connect the 270 DIN Snaic from the stageline to the AUX2 socket with the cover over it and it will power the stageline and feed the signal from it to the preamp, move the cover to the unpowered AUX2 socket to remind you not to connect anything else to it. I’m doing exactly that with the AUX2 of a 282. Put the collar nearest the stageline.

Except Snaics, those that carry power. Tighten those.

1 Like

Why’s that?

It upholds the “loose” / floating design concept, hence why the din sockets all wobble and the power inlet sockets all wobble. Hence don’t make the din interconnects rigid. One of the installation tweaks I learned while working at Naim.

In your set, I would power a Stageline from the powered Aux2 on the back of the NAC.

Are you able to put the FC2x on a separate shelf rather than sitting it on top your NAP? I am hoping the CD5 is on its own shelf.

I would definitely get rid of the cable ties.

Thanks everyone for your kind replies. I will do as advised.