Streamer for DAC V1

Hi all. Naim newbie here, I’ve gone through a major system upgrade since the summer and recently decided to try the ‘Naim sound’ and bought a DAC V1. Sounds amazing when I play a CD via my CDT, but streaming via a Bluesound Node sounds quite dull by comparison, even using Qobux Hi-def.

Wondering if anyone has some recommendations for a good streamer that pairs well with the DAC? I’ve been looking at the Innuos Zen Mini 3, as from what I’ve read it will be better to use the USB input on the DAC than coaxial.

Does the Bluesound Node have volume control.

I recently connected a Ndac to a SBT, the volume of the SBT was set at about 50% and sound was pretty poor. With the volume set at 100% the sound quality is top notch.

It does and I’ve got it up at full volume. Don’t get me wrong it sounds nice, but a CD is a good improvement. Not sure if it’s just because CD is going to sound better anyway, or if a streamer upgrade will improve things

I use a Mac mini with my DAC-V1 and have done so very happily for about 7 years but you might also like to look at Sonore Rendu streamers.

Best regards, BF

3 Likes

Sonore opticalRendu fed via a Shunyata Venom USB cable into my V1 sounds pretty amazing if you ask me, but you’d also have to consider a power supply for the oR, and a way to feed fiber into it (Sonore opticalModule being the preferable) so it can get a bit pricey. But you’d be at NDX level (with a good power supply and dc cable for the opticalRendu) for about $2k or so all in (depends on the LPS).

1 Like

Another vote for Sonore microRendu with DAC-V1 but as Charlesphoto has said there is scope for upgrading.

Talk to Martin at the Audiostore.

Dave

2 Likes

@charlesphoto @jazzman22 thanks for the recommendations. After being a lifetime vinyl man this is all new to me and there’s a lot to learn! Fascinating though and it’s going to be fun exploring how good digital playback can be. I’ll talk to audiostore and see what they can suggest.