Suggestions for Naim preamp and or power amp: replacing quad 34 and/or 909

Hi - I am a newbie to Naim and this forum.
I would be very grateful for suggestions for Naim preamp, or Naim pre and Power amp combination, to replace my quad 34, or Quad 34 and Quad 909.
In particular I am struggling to get to grips with the PSU side. It seems like some preamp / poweramp combinations can power themselves/each other?
I am looking at circa £1000 and I am looking to buy second hand etc…
Thanks

For £1,000, you are looking at rather mature equipment. The important thing is that power amps and power supplies have been properly serviced in the last 10 years, or be prepared to pay to service it yourself. I’d be looking at either a 72 and 140, or a 102 and 180. The 140 and 180 can power a preamp. You can then add a Hicap to much improve the power supply to the preamp at a later date. The 102 will also benefit hugely from a Napsc power supply, which you’d add before a Hicap. The 102 has a remote whereas the 72 does not.

72 with 140 would be a good combo or you could go with a Nait 1 or 2. Some feel that the Nait 1 and 2 are the most musical Naim amps.

32 and 140 CB another option.

Do you explicitly rule out an integrated amp here?

1 Like