Super 20 nightmare

hello all, I am a newbie,2nd post . I have a pair of kudos super 20s, had them for 6 years and for the life of me I can’t get them to image centrally,has anybody had a similar problem

Sorry to hear that. Are you able to post a pic or two showing your room layout?

Have you checked that they are in phase? I.e. and with apologies if stating the obvious, red from amp output connected to red speaker connectors, both channels?

1 Like

thanks for reply,yes they are in phase

1 Like

Even with the balance control?

hi Christopher,sorry can’t do at the moment.my room is about 12’x12’ with central fire place speakers are eitherside of fireplace 6’ apart firing straight down the room 12" out from the back wall

Thanks. I think I would see what happens if the speakers are, say, 5’ 6" apart.

hi yeti,i am trying to get them to have a even balance by placement then intend to use the balance control to fine tune them as the balance control on 32.5 is only +/- a few dB

In my 4.1m by ~3.8m living room I found the Sumiko Masterset technique useful when I was setting up the Thiel CS 1.6s I used before the NBLs. I had several goes at it and found a couple of nodes where they loaded the room so the image was stable even when listening off axis. The nodes varied in the amount of wall reinforcement, they needed a bit to fill out the upper bass/lower mids. One thing I noticed was that the lateral positioning transferred to the NBLs (which sit tight against the back wall) though the off axis range isn’t as wide. The Thiels are now in a lager room In our place in the south of France (I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll ever see it again) where they pull the same trick, at it turned out the same distance from the back wall, they are a lot further from the sides but a similar distance apart, the lateral placement took a bit of finding in both rooms.