Supernait 3 and ATC scm19

Ciao,
My SN3 is partnering with atc scm 19, the supernait is in the burn in period and the atc as well. I m very happy about the level of reality provided and the large soundstage provided but I keep feeling that there is something missing.
I don’t have the expected dynamic and level of engagement, especially at low volume.
I know that atc are coming to life with the volume but I keep thinking that it can be due to sn3 driving capabilities as well.
Some opinion on it?

1 Like

SN3 does takes some time to burn-in(at least it did for me).
What’s feeding your nDAC?

1 Like

For me SN3 drives the bigger ATC SCM40s and I am incredibly happy with the punch, dynamics and voice of the music coming out of this combo. Higher volume makes the music more engaging, that’s for sure

1 Like

I have no experience with the SCM19, but it is my impression in this forum (where I spent too much time…) that these speakers really benefit from a 250, even though the newer ATC have the reputation that they are an easier drive than older models…

@Simon-in-Suffolk is a long-time SCM19 user – no longer with a 250 but previously. He might offer insights.

I have PMC Twenty5.23 – not a demanding speaker. But moving up from an SN2 to a 250 was a significant step up…

I think it worth trying the time-honoured lavender interconnect again between your nDac and SN3.

1 Like

Perhaps a Supercap would solve the problems?

You’ll get as many opinions as posters here. FWIW, I think you really need to be at 250DR to get the full range of dynamics you’re after and that the ATCs are capable of. I’ve only heard 19s driven by a 250 and they sounded very good to me, but the actives were even more vivid and dynamic! I’d talk to your dealer at some point, but in the mean time you could try playing around with positioning of speakers and perhaps try different stands.

Roger

2 Likes