Supernait 3 upgrade path

How far would you go in upgrading the supernait 3.
Looking at different reviews which give their own ideas of upgrading the SN3 vary.
Would the NAP 250 DR or the SUPERCAP DR be a set to far.

It all depends where you want to get to or if you obtained the Supernait3 for the purpose of low box count.

2 Likes

I have 1 more shelf to fill and had considered the NAP 200 DR but from what I’ve read the 200 DR looks like a side step.
I am new to this upgrading lark,so would the NAP 250 DR be the way to go.

What source are you using, rack and speakers? The Supernait3 is amazing in its own so definitely fundamentals and source first.

I am using the fraim and the cd is from the xs series (8 years old ) with a rega planar 3 turntable.

Ok. The natural source partner to the Supernait3 is the NDX2. The natural direct upgrade to the Supernait3 is the HicapDR.
The Supernait3 is more than good enough for a better front end without thinking about the HicapDR. A Supercap Dr is wasted unless you want to get to a 252 pre amp.
A nap 200 isn’t really bringing much to the table over and above the Supernait3. If pre power is your goal a 250 would be a better option but I’d question why you got the Supernait3 in the first place?

3 Likes

Sounds like the source is a good place to put your money. As @popeye mentioned, the NDX2 would be great if you want to explore streaming. If not, possibly a Naim Dac to upgrade your CD player. The turntable world is alien to me…

As Popeye says, great advice. A SN3 is more than capable from delivering significant improvements to source and cable connections. Improving the source will bring better results than adding a power amp and future proofs your system.

Wanting to make a return to vinyl and keep the box count down to the limits of my fraim was the reason behind the SN3.(and having listen to one)
I just wanted to know my best options if I was to upgrade.

Supernaits are just that…they’re super already :sunglasses: