Tidal new Hires files = heaven

Good morning,
Just a word to express the satisfaction that Tidal’s new Hires resolution has been bringing for the past few days here.
The SQ improvement is phenomenal at my level.
What happiness…

Have you also noticed this change and this feeling?

6 Likes

What playback system do you have that is already capable of playing tidal hires flac?

272 can play the new HiRes Flac on Tidal but there are only limited tunes. I found two on day one; Diamond Life by Sade and Mahler 6 by Jonathan Nott and Bamberg Symphony Orchestra - both did demonstrate great SQ.
Apparently once you have opted for the HiRes Flac level, if there is one then it is automatically selected, if not it looks for MQA which imho is slightly less impressive and then standard Res.

ND5 XS2.
Before this Tidal hires change I could select on the Tidal mobile app ´if my memory serves me correctly´
‘the best’ was:
hi-fi: 16 bit - 44.1 or 96 kHz
and now 24 bit - 192 khz.

I’m no expert but the sampling rate has practically doubled!

For my part, I selected the new rate ´hires 24 bit 196 khz’ in the source application of Tidal hires.
I played my old Tidal playlist and all the pieces are much improved (frequencies, space etc…).
All parts are upgraded on my side.

1 Like

MB - pleased that you are happy with the new Hi Res as am I. Are the playlists you refer to your own or are they Tidal made? The latter may have been converted to the new 24 bit. It is a pity that there does not seem to be confirmation of what you are actually listening to once you have selected the Hi Res Option. Still new of course but the Tidal website does suggest a range of different stream SQ’s are available on the higher monthly subscription rate, so I do not think that everything is at 24 bit and my ears seem to confirm

Yes my playlists were made from the Tidal app (originally).
I hear a good difference in SQ on my side on all the pieces played (differently).