Transferring music files from Ready NAS to Synology

My Ready NAS is getting full – thinking of getting a different NAS (probably a Synology) with bigger disk while I am at it. But I am not sure how I will move the files from the Ready NAS to the new NAS when I make this ‘upgrade’. I have actually asked this question here before but from what I recall, the answers assumed quite a bit of prior knowledge – which I don’t have.

Can some kind soul provide noddy instructions that even a complete novice like me can follow?

Many thanks…

enjoy/ken

Ah, great you can edit title too!!!

Assuming you are happy copying files from your computer to your ReadyNas, then copying from one Nas to another is just the same. Once the new Nas is set up and connected to the network it’s just a case of dragging and dropping from one to the other and then pointing Asset at the new location. If your albums are all in a folder structure within a top level folder called music, or whatever, you can simply drag that top level folder. The process will take quite a while if you have lots of music but once started will trundle away by itself.

1 Like

Thanks Nigel. Yes, I am happy simply copying files but last time I did that in connection with my ripped music, this caused a problem which needed Phil Harris and took a long time for him to sort out. I am in touch with my dealer now… But thanks again…

enjoy/ken

Is the ReadyNas a backup for a UnitiServe? If so you’ll need to re-live the trauma of setting up the new backup. But if you are using a upnp server such as Asset on the nas, then it’s just a simple copy job. Maybe you did not tell us the whole story…

1 Like

I managed to move my UnitiServe/SSD ripped music from ReadyNAS Duo to Synology 218J using the Naim Hard Disk player application. Took about 3 days!!