Uniti Star SQ

Hi. I’m new to Naim and have recently set up a re-furb’d Uniti Star paired up with Neat Iota Alphas. The sound on acoustic stuff is superb, but I’m finding rock stuff to be bass heavy with a lack of snap on snares and splashy cymbals, the whole top end seems pretty lifeless and flat. I’ve tried CD’s, streaming Tidal and Spotify and TT via analogue in with pretty much the same sound on all sources. My speakers are a good 12” from rear wall, so not sure where all the bass is coming from. Upgraded from Onkyo P306rs/506rs combo and I’ve tried the Uniti with my power amp and as an integrated on it’s own with similar results, my old set up with Chromecast audio into a cheap dac had for more sparkle at the top end. Is there a setting somewhere to brighten the top end and cut the bass a bit?
Cheers all

How new are the speakers? My guess is room interaction might be exaggerating the bass, perhaps you need to experiment further with speaker placement. Try pulling out further into the room if possible.

What speaker cables are you using?

I’ve been messing with speaker placement a bit, spiked to carpet and on slabs. The bass boom improves a little, but the top end still sounds dull

Some old Arrow stuff I have and have used for a few years with none of these issues with my old kit. I tried some solid core 2.5mm cable today too, same issue

Over many years, admittedly some years ago I tried lots of different cables with naim amps. I discovered the hard way that naim cables work best soI would try some naim cables. After all it is what the Star is designed to use.

1 Like

Or if not Naim cables some Witch Hat N2 which is risk-free with a 30 day money back guarantee and works very well with Naim

2 Likes