Unitiserv ripping problems - incorrect details on index

Afternoon all, I am new to this so please bear with me. I have just got a Unitiserv 2Tb and have started ripping my CDs to it. Most are fine but some have started coming up as unknown in the index, whilst others have got completely wrong details appearing - Subcircus “Don’t 86 me” comes up as Badmarsh and Shri “Get up” for instance. I have not got anything by Badmarsh so it’s not me getting the CDs from the wrong cases. Any ideas what is going on?

Hi, first you should check that the firmware is up to date as this can affect metadata lookup. The latest version is 1.7c.

If you’re ripping relatively obscure or new CDs there’s a chance that they are missing from the online databases that the Unitiserve, like all Cd rippers, use to add metadata.
There’s the option to correct metadata if you can’t get it from online sources. Easiest is to do it on the N-Serve app on an iOS device or Mac.

Hi Chris, Thanks I will give that a go

@ChrisSU is bang on here.

Mainstream album rips are accurate on my UnitiServe 2TB (on 1.7c FW), but anything a bit left field foxes the online look up (which I don’t think is the most exhaustive music database out there) but correcting title, artist, track names & genre is simple via N-Serve on my iPad.

Poor old UnitiServe, getting a bit long in the tooth.

I can’t remember exactly which databases the US uses, but there aren’t that many of them out there and it uses 3 so I reckon it should have as good a chance as anything if finding the correct metadata.
Having said that, on the rare occasions where mine failed to find an album my go-to solution was to use iTunes, which uses the Gracenote database and usually seemed to come up trumps.