Unity Atom and Focal ARIA 906

I am looking to replace my speakers MA Silver 300 with the ARIA 906s and would appreciate other people’s experience of this pairing. I listen to Eclectic mix of music from folk to jazz and easy listening.

Thanks in advance
Peter

No experience of your speakers , though i know @nigelb has a pair( maybe not the same), but has found they respond well to upgrades at the front end.

@Gazza was nearly right. I have used my MA GOLD GX300s all the way through my more recent Naim journey which started with the humble Uniti1. It is fair to say that the Uniti struggled to drive the MA GX300s and you might find the same with the Atom and the Silver 300s but I suspect the Atom is a little more capable than the old Uniti1 in this respect. Anyway I stuck with my trusty GX300s to the present day and they have responded to every Naim upgrade and are sounding glorious with NDS/PS555DR/552/250DR.

Sorry I have no experience of the Aria 906s. Why don’t you see if you can hear the Atom/906 paring at a dealer or, better still, borrow a pair of 906s to hear at home.

1 Like

Yeah I’m going to do that I like the MA’s but too much boom and with the bungs in place just lacks that something. Thanks for the reply.

The MA Silvers and Golds are very different beasts and I remember reading that the new (at that time) Golds were designed with one eye on the Japanese market where rooms are rather smaller. Indeed I use mine (bungs in) in a small room close to the rear wall and have no bass boom problems. I suspect the Silvers are a different story and it does sound like the Atom might be struggling to control that bass.

Good luck with your speaker search.

I used to run a pair of 906’s with a Unitiqute2 a few years ago, nice speaker, easy to drive, would recommend them, my friend has the set up now, still sounds good.

1 Like

The 906 is what I wanted with my Atom, I went Focal Chorus instead and later the Focal 1008be2.