Upgrade time

Hi Folks,
I currently run a superuniti with Focal Aria 936 speakers. While the sound is still amazing, the streaming features are now lacking.

With the budget I have, would a supernait 3 and ND5 XS2 be worth the extra expense over a uniti nova?

I also run an LP12/Ittok/DV XX2 so the phono option on the supernait is mute.

What do you think?

SN3 + ND5 XS2 work well, gives a lot of flexibility to refine it down the line in ways not possible with a Uniti product as well.

2 Likes

Hi, welcome to the madhouse! I can only comment in general terms as I have no first hand knowledge of the SN3 or ND5 XS2. What I would ask is what is your main source? If it is the LP12 in your position I would be considering a pre power combo to get the best out of it. Home demo essential if possible. Going by the comments of others I would think an sn3/nd5xs2 would have a clear advantage over the superuniti on sound quality and access to hires recordings and cd quality internet radio.
I’m sure some of the more knowledgable chaps will chip in!

:+1:

And adopting separates give you flexibility to make changes easier later, like @Mr.M said

1 Like

Thanks guys, I am thinking the same lines, just the convenience of the unit I is hard to rule out. If I have the same control with the app as I do at the moment, the sn3 ndx5 is a done deal.

Yes, you have the same control with the app for the ND5 XS2, but all the extra features too (Chromecast, Qobuz, better buffering on Tidal etc).

The streaming functions of the separate streamers and Unitis is essentially the same. The difference with the ND5XS2 is that it has no remote control or screen, you just use the app for everything. Also, with a separate amp and streamer, you need to use the remote control that comes with the amp to control volume and input selection, or use system automation to allow the Naim app to do this, which isn’t quite as slick, but it still works.