Using an NDX2 with an external SSD

Hi everyone,

total Naim beginner here, so thanks to all the authors of posts that have helped me make up my mind and start my journey with the SN3. Mine should be arriving here in 3 weeks :smile:

My very old DAC doesn’t work with all files so I’ve been looking at various options and I have also read in a review that my Node 2i might not agree with the SN3. So it might make much more sense to buy a Naim streamer and get rid of boxes and potential incompatibilities (technical or sonic).

But (apologies in advance :rofl:) I don’t like streaming all that much, and much prefer to read FLACs from an external SSD drive. Reviews of/threads about the NDX2 explain that it’s no server, though. Does that mean it’s not possible to plug a hard drive and access my files from the Naim app?

Do I systematically need a separate server (increasing box count, cables, price, complexity, hassle …) or can the NDX2 simply be used (via the Naim app, not Roon) just like the Node 2i?

Thanks a lot for your help,
Pascal

You can connect an external drive and the ndx2 can play from that drive.

What makes you think your blusound mode is not compatible?

1 Like

Ooh, thank you so much @robert_h! Most kind of you. I will read that eagerly.

I read a review (so many reviews in fact) in which the author was having problems with his Node 2i. It might be an isolated case, mind you!! But even though, 2 boxes from the same manufacturer appeal to me far more than 3 or 4 from different ones :wink:

Cheers

1 Like

There’s no reason why your Node 2i shouldn’t work with the Supernait. An NDX2 should certainly sound quite a lot better. Even the cheaper ND5XS2 shoud be an improvement.