Vinyl Based System plans

I recently added a pre-loved Rega RP3 turntable / TTPSU / ELYS2 / Fono MM Mk2 (my first ever TT at 44 years old) to my Uniti Star and Neat Xplorers and I’m absolutely loving the new experience. I haven’t streamed a single song since hooking up the RP3. Vinyl is the future!

The postman has also been busy delivering my new vinyl. Vinyl is now firmly at the forefront of my future system plans / thinking.

I’m initially hankering after trading up to new P8 / Ania MC and intend to demo when I get a chance. Source first but realise the P8 would be restrained by the Stars limitations.

If I then added a SN3, I presume I could still use my Star as a streamer/CD player initially? Or would I be better to get the Rega Aria phono and consider another direction for a Naim based Star replacement (does it need replacing)?

It would probably be one major component at a time as my hobbies cannot come before family life/expenses.

Be kind, I’m new to considering moving away from an all in one system and do not really understand the full purpose of the black boxes…

morning @LRJH I would look at and more over demon SN3 which has a built in phono stage vs the seperates in the Naim range

you can more than happily build a system around the SN3 with vinyl or look at seperates if that is your choice - I went down the seperates route over 20 + years - I love my system and my vinyl my bio is in my profile

enjoy the music and the journey

1 Like

Main issue with using the Uniti Star as a source is that it doesn’t lend itself so easily to this because it doesn’t have a line output, just a pre-amp out.

I think that if you are looking to make vinyl the focus of your system plans then you should be thinking of a wholesale change.