What first: PSU or new speakers?

Hi again!

Just got the 82/200 (and Linn Majik DS) some two weeks ago. First things first, as my topic suggests: When the time is right, add a psu or change speakers? My walls are plasterboard and the amount of furniture is moderate.

I really like my Focus 160 but I want to go back to floorstanders.

As for psu, I do not think a SC is within budget right now. That leaves me with HC, and the question is DR or non DR. And why, please.

Thanks!

-Thomas

In my experience, speakers can have the largest effect on the sound. I would audition some speakers that you think will work well before going for PSU.

1 Like

The traditional Linn / Naim upgrade path is source first, which includes the PSU.

2 Likes

Thanks. I am aware of the possible (likely) effect new speakers will have on the system. But I am fairly new to the psu stuff. Good to get opinions from experienced consumers :slightly_smiling_face:

T

What kind of HiCap would you suggest on my system?

1 Like

Source first generally, but what do you feel is lacking?

I’m also of the opinion that speakers are often considered too low in the chain as however good the source the output is constrained by the speaker but you have a pretty respectable pair of speakers - if you feel they are ‘too small’ to portray the scale of recordings in your listening room, this may be the reason you’re hankering for floor standers though you have to demo source and speakers ideally to see which has the greater impact.

Bang for buck, any HiCap is likely to bring more solidity to the sound, the DR models have a lower noise floor, however you may mind that a pre-owned standard HiCap may be quite synergistic with the 82.

1 Like

Have the 82/200 been serviced?

Hi Alley_Cat,

Thanks alot. I’ll answere your three responses here.