Where is the magic in a streamer

Hi.

I’m new to high end audio and am piece by piece decoding what it all means and learning where the magic lies. Have recently learned the high importance of the source…

I am going to be predominantly a streamer of music and I am trying to work out the best way to form a high quality source. With a streaming DAC is the magic in the “retreival of the file” or the conversion from a digital signal to an analogue? Ie. would a streamer like a Bluesound connected via optical cable to a super high quality DAC produce a super high quality signal capable of doing a decent pair of separates justice?? Or is there also magic in the signal retreival…?

Thanks

Perhaps you could begin with an idea of budget? Naim doesn’t do standalone dacs anymore. However you can find Ndac second hand easily. Still a very good Dac.
@HiFiman uses the Bluesound and could advise you.
Naim does streamers with integrated dacs, as nd5xs2, ndx2 . I would go more on that way.

In my experience the ‘magic’ is primarily down to the DAC, and the DAC you use can make a huge difference to the quality of the sound, and thus the enjoyability.

Other components of course may have an effect, but in my view not as great as the differences between DACS.

Budget is flexible. Just trying to work out where I do and dont need to spend money. Easiest thing is to just spend endless $$ doing this. Im intrigued as to whether a BS streamer into a super high qual DAC would be on-par with a high end integrated DAC/streamer…

Intuitively, as long as the file is retreived and stays in tact, the musicality and magic happens when its manipulated in the DAC…but happy to be educated as to why this is not true

Difficult to have definitive ideas on what is best. The Dac is considered as the most important part. But the transport, the server, the switch…are not secondary.
I will not connect a 10 k Dac into a bluesound personally, but other may have different points of views.

1 Like