Which box for streaming

Any advice much appreciated as I have little experience beyond playing cds and vinyl. I want to get a streaming device to feed into my sn2 amp. The NDX2 was the suggestion from a previous post but before spending a sizeable lump of cash I want to be sure it does what I expect. Or maybe I could spend less or buy second hand for the same results. I really have no idea…
My goal…

1. SQ potentially matches my Naim CD player 2. It will access a NAS wirelessly from another room? 3.It will play from a usb stick and hard drive.
    I have my own collection of music so don’t intend to subscribe. I still like to buy CDs. I have them on my laptop as FLAC and wav. The WiFi hub is next to my rack the NAS & the pc would be in another room. In the near future I plan to have a second listening room when building work is finished.

The ndx2 can do all those things, though wired would be better that wireless for ensured stability. Your nas ideally should be capable of running asset or minimserver or another appropriate upnp server.

1 Like

In case you do not want to subscribe to Tidal or another streaming platform, then you could easily live with the streaming capabilities of the NDX instead of ND5XS2 or NDX2. Quite some offers now second hand…saves you some money to buy cd’s :).

2 Likes

Would the ND5XS2 be an option? Cheaper than the NDX2 but has the newer platform.

Wait for the new kit announcement?

1 Like