Which NAS

Greetings,

I am new to computer streaming audio and am seeking your help.

I recently sold my CD 5 si. I shopped for a Uniti Core and as great as the product seems the price is a little prohibitive for me right now. So I turned my mind to a NAS. I would like to rip appr 400 CD’s to a NAS and then stream them to my NDX 2. I have a MacBook Pro 16 with no CD drive so I know I have to start by buying a CD ripper to attach to the MacBook. After that initial step, I am into the unknown. I have Googled as much as I can but get a million different opinions most of which are outdated. I am embarrassed asking this (and am showing my age) but I don’t even know where to start.

1. Which NAS would you recommend?
  2. What program do I install on my MacBook to burn the CD’s into FLAC files.
  3. Do I have to install some program on the NAS to enable it to communicate with my NDX 2? I have read about people discussing Asset or Minimserver.
  4. Will all this be too much of a faff for an old codger and just bite the bullet and pay for a very expensive Uniti Core?

I know that these may seem like simplistic questions to most on this forum but please bear with me. I am modernizing…one step at a time.

Thank you for your guidance.

Get a decent Qnap or Synology. I have the Qnap TS253A if that helps but it’s a few years old now. You want dbpoweramp as the ripper and metadata editor, and Asset as the upnp server. It’s initially confusing but with a little perseverance you’ll get there and once mastered it’s easy. Ensure you have a backup plan for the nas, with the Qnap you can attach a USB drive, press a button and it’s done.

2 Likes

Heres my 2p worth from someone who has been there. :joy:

1. A 2 drive Nas from Qnap or Synology. Maybe set up as raid 1.
  2. Many, including myself use dbpoweramp for ripping.
  3. Both the nas’s mentioned have their own media server apps. Use them to start then maybe move over to Asset or Minim.