Which upnp do you use?

I have been using the Asset upnp for a few years now. The free version as I only required it for its basic function which is free.

But now not sure if the 24/192 bit rate is only for the paid version.

Can I know which other upnp services forum members use? And any particular advantage for using that particular upnp?

Appreciate the feedback.

1 Like

Asset UPnP for me, yu must get the full version, it does it all & more, 24/192, DSD & all (& more) of the lesser formats, so much more to list.
Its so so easy to install, simple to learn & optimise to whatever you want & a delight to use.

I tried Minimserver for a while until Illustrate released an Asset for Synology.
Minimserver (IMO) is a faff to set up (& I’m a techie geek) & although excellent for Classical music, I don’t have that much material to use it to its full potential.
Others tried; Synology Media Server (rubbish) Plex (OK but designed for video)

3 Likes

I use MinimServer. It just works for me and presents my music as I intend.

1 Like

Minimserver for me, does everything I need including 192/24

Asset on RPi2 for many years. Now SonoreUPnP Bridge from Roon.

Before that circa 2012
Twonky server (not a patch on Asset), and feel sorry for Melco users it must be terrible.
ReadyNAS DLNA, but no cover Artwork
LMS for a Squeezebox System - good at the time and could of been so much more

Another Asset user here. Love the functionality.

1 Like

Same as @Mike-B.

(Except I wouldn’t describe Synology Media Server as rubbish, I’d just describe it as a simple very basic UPnP server designed as a ‘get you going’ (and nothing more) solution to be included as part of the Synology OS package. It’s simple to use and does the basics reliably, but does nothing more than the absolute basics of a DLNA music server, but that’s all it’s ever intended to do and it actually does that strictly limited job quite well.)

2 Likes