5.1 / 7.1 / 7.2.2 etc

I am going through an internal debate. I went to see a friend who has recently bought a 2nd hand Arcam AV888 and his system sounded excellent. I should point out that he is a dirac expert and knows his onions. His system is 5.3, I don’t think he has a ‘height’ speakers.

This got me thinking. I also have 5.3, and I am using my Oppo 105d as my processor.

From my perspective I am going to first hone what I already have, then think about a processor. My biase is, NO.

IF I was to get a stand alone processor it would, of course, offer a plethora of channels, but would I actually use them? If not might I be better off getting an older processor and just accept that I will stick with 5 main channel speakers and ignore 4k/8k; so head down the same route as the av888 or Marantz 8801, for instance.

Any thoughts or experience here?

M

Hi , M . arcam stuff is just superb but i just cannot face this dirac thing. i am not a techie and it took 6 hours for me and my supersonic IT clever son to set up just an ordinary denon av amp. we have had denon for years . its not as good as arcam but it cost a great deal less . i just use 5 channels and thats good enough for me . i find the sub overpowering sometimes so don`t use it

I bought a Marantz AV Pre new in about 2012 for $1500 retail and returned it due to poor sound, and the remote interfered with my NAC 112. My older Denon AVR-4800 from around 2000 was obviously better sounding. So is my AV2.

New Marantz is probably improved.

Nick

@MrUnderhill, Mine was a Marantz AV7005, according to my 2012 post on the old Forum. Very unsatisfactory, but long ago. I am sure the new ones sound better. They would have to! :grin:

Consider that I am now satisfied running 3.0 via AV2/NAP V-175 into Totem Model One Sig. and old KEF center speaker. Oppo 205, TiVo Premier, and 4K AppleTV are my sources.

Nick

Thx Nick & Hifinutt,

The AV2 was and is excellent, if overly long in the tooth unfortuneately.